Maternal OCD and the 10x10ks …

Hi , a blog about the 10 x 10ks I ran for the wonderful charity Maternal OCD > http://maternalocd.org/

So here we are , 10 months into the year and I completed the mission of running 10x10ks and threw a half marathon in for good measure !!

listed here are the 10ks .. 1.British winter 10k London 2 Fen Drayton 3 Huntingdon 4 Swavesey 5 Cambourne 6 St ives 7Norwich 8 Welwyn 9 Town and Gown , Cambridge 10 Bourne and of course the Cambridge Half Marathon !

I was officially going to run the Paris Marathon this year , but due to personal circumstances I had to withdraw , so in December last year the wife came up with the idea of running 10 x 10ks for Maternal OCD as she knew how close the charity was to my heart and that I was a good friend of a person , who has helped me so much with my awareness work of OCD , the super Diana Wilson the co founder of the charity . So I decided to take on that challenge, and it was , fantastic !! I eventually met the other co-founder Maria at the Welwyn 10k and she is a wonderfully wonderful person too !!

The last 10k which was on sunday the 16th of October , in my hometown of Cambridge was a very emotional experience , knowing that the journey has raised awareness of Maternal OCD and I got so much support and encouragement over the last 10 months. During the last 500 metres I was in tears of joy and pain , I wanted to stop as my legs were hurting a lot , but I said to myself , come on ash your legs maybe painful but remember there are mums out there that cannot lift up their baby due to OCD ….. that drove me on and gave me that final burst of energy ….. to cross that line , and boy was I proud !!

MONEY RAISED !!!

We managed to raise £1065.00 which is fantastic and a big thanks to all that sponsored !!

What is going to happen with the £ £ ? so far it has enabled Dr.Eva Zsk and her team take up the first stages of research into perinatal/postpartum ocd , where 8 mums will engage with and share lived experiences …

So that is the story of my 10x10ks ….

Ash.

 

Leave a comment